Buddy Melges Inducted Into ISAF Sailing Hall of Fame

13 November 2015

Buddy Melges dockside at Lake Geneva Yacht Club

In 2007 the International Sailing Federation (ISAF) celebrated its centenary and to mark the occasion, introduced a Hall of Fame.

Olin Stephens, Dame Ellen Macarthur, Paul Elvström, Barbara Kendall, Eric Tabarly and Sir Robin Knox-Johnston were all inducted in the first instance.

They have been joined by seven new inspirational sailors who have been honoured at the 2015 Annual Conference.

These individuals have made a significant impact on the water, but also with their remarkable attitudes and dedication to sailing whilst onshore. They have all in their own way helped shape the sport we enjoy today.

In addition to Buddy, other inductees include Dennis Conner, Alessandra Sensini, Harold Vanderbilt, Sir Peter Blake, Valentin Mankin and Torben Grael.

Read The Complete Press Release From ISAF
Visit ISAF’s Hall of Fame Website

Sailors will be inducted into the Hall of Fame every third year of the Executive Committee's tenure. The next induction will be in 2019.