Michas Wins Audi Melges 20 Miami Winter Series Event No. 1, Hill Named Corinthian Champion

14 December 2014

Miami, FL - One final light air race concluded the 2014/15 Audi Melges 20 Miami Winter Series Act No. 1 on Sunday, hosted by Coconut Grove Sailing Club (CGSC) with championship winner Jason Michas on Midnight Blue along with tactician Mark Mendelblatt and crew Trevor Moore winning the final heat and taking the overall win. Tied with equal points in second place is Marc Hollerbach’s Fu, followed by Achille Onorato’s Mascalzone Latino Jr. for third.

In addition to the overall standings, the battle for the Corinthian title remained hot and heated over the three-day event. 2013 Corinthian U.S. National Champion Brian Hill on Atlas captured the all-amateur division top prize. Tate Russack on Diesel claimed a well-deserved second while Canada’s Paul Currie on Wild Deuces proudly took third.

As always the IAM20CA is grateful for the dedication of CGSC and their entire team of volunteers and race committee members. PRO Bruce Golison and his team once again did an amazing job firing off races in some very tough conditions. Many thanks will always be to all teams, sailors and owners for joining the fleet and experiencing an incredible regatta.

The 2015 Miami Winter Series continues on next February 6-8 for MWS Event No. 2, and the grand finale will happen in mid-March at the Melges Rocks Regatta. All teams who have not registered for either of these events yet are encouraged to sign-up today for what will be the very best Series ever!

1.) Jason Michas/Mark Mendleblatt, Midnight Blue; [15]-4-13-1-6-1= 25
2.) Marc Hollerbach/Jonathan McKee, Fu; [12]-10-4-2-4-5 = 25
3.) Achille Onorato/Malcolm Page, Mascalzone Latino, Jr.; 4-1-5-[9]-9-7 = 26
4.) Richard Davies/Charlie McKee, Section 16; 8-6-6-8-[26]-3 = 31
5.) John Taylor/Bill Hardesty, Ninkasi; [16]-5-11-7-1-14 = 38
6.) Mike Keefe/Kevin Jewett, Flannel; 6-3-2-17-[18]-16 = 44
7.) Russ Lucas/Harry Melges, Shimmer; 14-[15]-14-5-7-4 = 44
8.) Jim Wilson/Sam Rogers, Oleander; [20]-19-17-3-10-2 = 51
9.) Paul Reilly/Andy Burdick, Red Sky Sailing Team; 10-9-7-19-[25]-8 = 53
10.) Bo Boje Pedersen/Michael Hestbaek, UpUpUp; 2-18-9-[22]-14-12 = 55

1.) Brian Hill, Atlas = 70 pts.
2.) Tate Russack, Diesel = 88 pts.
3.) Paul Currie, Wild Deuces = 95 pts.
Official Yachtscoring Event Website
View Full Entry List
View Photo Gallery - JOY
Audi Melges 20 on Facebook
Audi Melges 20 on Twitter
Audi Melges 20 on Instagram
Audi Melges 20 on YouTube