Carroll Wins Second Consecutive Melges 32 World Championship Title, A Class First

7 December 2014

Miami, FL - For the first time in the history of the Melges 32 class, there is a back-to-back Melges 32 World Champion. After a few up and down finishes early the event and some Houdini-esque comebacks late in the event, Jason Carroll on Argo with tactician Cameron Appleton, and crew comprised of Anthony Kouton, Scott Norris, Weston Barlow, Graham Landy, Phillip Wehrheim and Mike Kuschner put the fleet in a sleeper hold on days four and five to secure the overall win. Edoardo Lupi and co-owner Massimo Pessina’s Torpyone with tactician Lorenzo Bressani finished second, while Naofumi Kamei’s Mamma Aiuto! with Manu Weiller on tactics placed third overall.

The one and only, final showdown race for the World title and trophy commenced under the lightest conditions seen yet with a pulsing NW wind at 6-9 kts. After an intense dial-up for the start between front-runner Carroll and Lupi/Pessina, the fleet got an all-clear start with Keisuke Suzuki’s Swing rounding the weather mark in first. Carroll eventually took over the lead with Dalton DeVos’ Delta, Ryan DeVos’ Volpe, Alessandro Rombelli’s STIG and William Douglass’ Goombay Smash in the chase for the remaining podium positions. The breeze got even lighter for the final downwind run and to the finish with Carroll holding on, cool, calm and collected rounding through the gates for the win securing a second-consecutive World Championship title. Dalton DeVos fought hard to finish in second, while his cousin Ryan settled for third landing them both in the top five.

Back on-shore a complete awards and trophy presentation was held crowning Carroll and all the event winners, including a special award presented to Chris Wientjes and his Stormvogel entourage as 2014 Melges 32 Rookie of the Year.

A very special thanks to everyone who made this World Championship possible including every owner and competitor that traveled near and far to be with the fleet, our sponsors Red Bull, Perrier, Peroni, Stella Rosa Black, Santero, North Sails and Lavazza, the hedgehog and Goombay Smash teams for awesome afternoon and evening parties, the professional PRO Anderson Reggio, the amazing and super dedicated Coconut Grove Sailing Club in particular Ron Rostorfer and Sandrine Quenee, the Jury, Miami Beach Marina and last, but certainly not least — the impeccable Megan Goldman and her staff at Silent Touch Productions.

TOP TEN RESULTS (FINAL - After Ten Races, One Discard)
1.) Jason Carroll/Cameron Appleton, Argo; 7-1-[12]-6-1-8-5-1-2-1 = 32
2.) Edoardo Lupi & Massimo Pessina/Lorenzo Bressani, Torpyone; 8-[14]-1-7-8-2-2-4-3-4 = 39
3.) Naofumi Kamei/Manu Weiller, Mamma Aiuto!; 4-2-5-[18/DSQ]-2-17-11-6-1-5 = 53
4.) Ryan DeVos/James Spithill, Volpe; 6-8-6-9-10-3-6-[13]-4-3 = 55
5.) Alessandro Rombelli/Terry Hutchinson, STIG; 5-6-3-[16]-12-1-1-12-12-8 = 60
6.) Dalton DeVos/Jonathan McKee, Delta; 2-7-[16]-2-16-10-12-2-7-2 = 60
7.) Alec Cutler/Richard Clarke, hedgehog; 10-4-7-12-3-4-9-3-8-17 = 60
8.) William Douglass/Chris Larson, Goombay Smash; [18/DNF]-5-4-4-4-13-3-10-13-6 = 62
9.) Pierre Casiraghi/Vasco Vascotto, Robertissima; 1-7.6/RDG-9-1-11-9-4-9-17-12 = 63.6
10.) Richard Goransson/Morgan Larson, Inga From Sweden III; 3-10-2-5-14-[16]-8-8-9-9 = 68
View Full Results
View Official Yachtscoring Event Website
View The Full Entry List
View Full Crew List
View Photo Gallery - Carlo Borlenghi

View Complete Video Gallery of Promos, Previews and Interviews

Melges 32 on Facebook
Melges 32 on YouTube
Melges 32 on Twitter
Melges 32 on Instagram