Rombelli Rallies To Capture Audi Sailing Series Title, Capolino Named European Champion, Kiss Prevails On Final Day To Win Porto Rotondo Event

1 September 2013

Porto Rotondo, Italy - Congratulations are in full order for overall 2013 Audi Sailing Series Champion Alessandro Rombelli aboard STIG, and Porto Rotondo Champion Michael Kiss on Bacio. As only a European team can wear the title of European Champion, Giancarlo Capolino aboard Legionario claims the title alongside of tactician Francesco Ivaldi and crew Diego Battisti. Three amazing Champions in a fleet of all-around winners!

For the fifth and final event of the 2013 Audi Melges 20 Sailing Series, a dramatic last day awarded Kiss and his crew of tactician Chris Rast and Willie McBride as Event No. 5 — Porto Rotondo Champions! A total of eight races were completed over the four-day racing event with Kiss edging the fleet by seven points to win. In second overall, overnight leader Capolino slipped to finish second. Another American, former International Class Chairman Marc Hollerbach on Fu came back from yesterday’s tenth position to take the third seat on the podium. Russ Lucas on Shimmer finished fourth and Marco Franchini’s Mezza Luna rounded out the top five.

The 2013 Audi Sailing Series has been one of the most successful hosting thirty-five teams representing eight countries. Rombelli is no stranger to success in the Audi Melges 20. He is a former Gold Cup Champion, and his 2013 Audi Sailing Series Championship title alongside tactician Paul Goodison and Giorgio Tortarolo is a first. Kiss too has found victory in the Class on multiple occasions. Not only is he a three-time, back-to-back Audi Melges 20 U.S. National Champion, he is also a former Miami Winter Series Champion.

Capolino placed second overall in the Series, followed by early-on leader Guido Miani on Monaco Racing Fleet. Achille Onorato on Mascalzone Latino, Jr. and Renato Vallivero on Audi Ultra Fratelli Giacomel stand tall finishing the season proudly in fourth and fifth.

The final event of the 2013 Audi Melges 20 Sailing Series was organized by B-Plan Sport&Events in full collaboration with the International Audi Melges 20 Class Association and Melges Europe.

The conclusion of last week’s Nationals and this weekend’s European Championship has set an incredible Fall/Winter Audi Melges 20 racing season in fast-forward motion.

The North American schedule shifts into high gear with the 2013 North American Championship in Toronto, Canada on September 13-15, and a wonderful warm-up to Worlds event is scheduled for Miami, kicking off the 2013-14 Miami Winter Series on November 1-3.

Thirty-six teams have signed up already to race at the World Championship on December 11-14 at Ocean Reef Club in Key Largo, Florida. The Notice of Race is now available and Online Registration is open as an unprecedented attendance level is expected.

TOP TEN RESULTS (FINAL — After Eight Races, One Discard)
1.) Michael Kiss, Bacio; 1-[7]-1-4-7-5-3-1 = 22
2.) Giancarlo Capolino, Legionario; 3-5-2-1-8-9-1-[12] = 29
3.) Marc Hollerbach, Fu; 10-3-9-5-[23]-3-8-5 = 43
4.) Russ Lucas, Shimmer; 13-6-4-2-10-[17]-2-7 = 44
5.) Marco Franchini, Mezza Luna; 4-4-13-10-3-4-[21]-9 = 47
6.) Guido Miani, Monaco Racing Fleet; [16]-2-10-14-2-11-5-4 = 48
7.) Jan Kuchar, Aloha; [20]-1-8- 3-11-12-12-2 = 49
8.) Alessandro Rombelli, STIG; 8-12-5-[17]-4-2-4-14 = 49
9.) Claudio Dutto, Asante Sana; 5-11-7-9-12-8-7-[15] = 59
10.) Renato Vallivero, Audi Ultra Fratelli Giacomel; 7-8-6-8-[21]-10-18-3 = 60
View Full Results
View Full Photo Gallery - Borlenghi Studio/BPSE
View Full Entry List
View Europeans Welcome Day Video
View Day One Video Highlights 
View Europeans Day Two Video

2013 AUDI SAILING SERIES (FINAL — After Five Events, 29 Races, 4 Discards)
1.) Alessandro Rombelli, STIG = 138 pts
2.) Giancarlo Capolino, Legionario = 158 pts
3.) Guido Miani, Monaco Racing Fleet = 164 pts
4.) Achille Onorato, Mascalzone Latino, Jr. = 173 pts
5.) Renato Vallivero, Audi Ultra Fratelli Giacomel = 194 pts
6.) Mirko de Falco, Peccere = 207 pts
7.) Russ Lucas, Shimmer = 231 pts
8.) Dario Levi, Fremito D’Arja = 243 pts
9.) Claudio Dutto, Asanta Sana = 254 pts
10.) Marco Franchini, Mezza Luna = 289 pts
View Full Results