Torbole — Penultimate Audi Melges 32 Sailing Series Event Warms Up Teams To 2013 World Championship In Porto Rotondo

12 July 2013

Torbole, Italy - Happening this weekend, the fourth event of the 2013 Audi Melges 32 Sailing Series will commence in Torbole, hosted by Circolo Vela Torbole. Nineteen teams are in attendance including Gaeta Champion Valentin Zavadnikov on Team Synergy as well as Porto Ercole and Portoferraio winner Lanfranco Cirillo aboard Fantastica. Cirillo leads the overall Series by one slim point, just ahead of Andrea Pozzi’s Bombarda.

It will be a face-off between Cirillo and Pozzi as they continue to challenge for the Series title, especially as the two prepare for competition at the World Championship taking place in Porto Rotondo in a couple of months time. Cirillo will have new guidance this time from multi-world champion Nicola Celon as tactican. Pozzi returns to the stage with his same winning crew from Key West Race Week 2013.

Other teams such as Edoardo Lupi’s Torpyone, Vincenzo Onorato’s Mascalzone Latino, Roberto Tomasini Grinover’s Robertissima and Marc de Antonio’s Bribon-Movistar will be ones to watch. Also on the radar are Mauro Mocchegiani helming his Audi Ultra Giacomel, Jason Carroll on Argo and his steady tactician Cameron Appleton and Richard Gorannson’s Inga From Sweden III HH with Hamish Pepper calling tactics.

Socially speaking, B.Plan Sport & Events (BPSE) and Melges Europe will be raising awareness to charitable efforts as they are proud supporters of Debra Südtirol, a non-profit organization founded in 2004 aimed at assisting "butterfly children", affected by Epidermolysis Bullosa. During the Torbole event, the "butterfly children" and their families will have the opportunity to enjoy a whole day of racing together with some of the Melges 32 sailing leaders.

Racing starts on Friday and ends on Sunday. Eight races are scheduled with a discard in effect after six. Torbole is organized by BPSE B.Plan Sports & Events in full coordination with the IM32CA and Melges Europe.

1.) Mauro Mocchegiani/Branko Brcin, Audi Ultra Giacomel
2.) Jason Carroll/Cameron Appleton, Argo
3.) Andrea Pozzi/Lorenzo Bressani, Bombarda
4.) Marc de Antonio/Gustavo Martinez Doreste, Bribon-Movistar
5.) Filippo Pacinotti/Nathan Wilmot, Brontolo HH
6.) Lanfranco Cirillo/Nicola Celon, Fantastica
7.) Richard Gorannson/Hamish Pepper, Inga From Sweden III HH
8.) Naofumi Kamei/Manuel Weiller, Mamma Aiuto!
9.) Vincenzo Onorato/Gabriele Benussi, Mascalzone Latino
10.) Tony Buckingham/Chris Hosking, Ngoni
11.) Wolfgang Stolz/Jesper Radich, Opus One
12.) Roberto Tomasini Grinover/Vasco Vascotto, Robertissima 1
13.) Andrea Ferrari/Fabio Mazzoni, Spirit of Nerina
14.) Valentin Zavadnikov/Michele Ivaldi, Team Synergy GT
15.) Keisuki Suzuki/Chris Nicholson, Swing
16.) Edoardo Lupi/Pietro Sibello, Torpyone
17.) Andrea Massi/Francesco Cruciani, ULIKA
18.) Andrea LaCorte/Andrea Fornaro, Vitamina
19.) Yukihiro Ishida/Richard Clarke, Yasha Samurai
View Full Crew List
View Full Audi Sailing Series Rankings (After Three Events)