2013 Audi Melges 20 Sailing Series Back In Portoferraio

7 June 2013

Portoferraio, Italy - The 2013 Audi Melges 20 Sailing Series is back this weekend taking place in Portoferraio, Italy. Twenty-six teams will actively participate and enjoy the biggest and the best in one design racing on Saturday and Sunday.

All attention will be focused on current Series leader Achille Onorato aboard Mascalzone Latino Jr. as he will attempt to defend his leadership gained in Porto Ercole.

It will not be an easy game for the 'mascalzoni' team, as the Audi Melges 20 fleet seems to be more fierce than ever. Teams such as Guido Miani's Out of Reach, Alessandro Rombelli's STIG, Federico Albano on 3Menda and Mirko de Falco on Pecceré will be looking to make a move on the fleet and advance in the overall Series standing.

A substantial number of foreign teams have made their way back to the Italian arena including Rob Wilber on Cinghiale flying English colors. Andrea Pozzi will helm in place of American Russ Lucas aboard Shimmer. The fleet is thrilled to welcome the first ever boat representing the Czech Republic, Aloha helmed by Jan Kuchar.

The 2013 Audi Melges 20 Sailing Series is organized by B-Plan Sport&Events in full collaboration with the International Audi Melges 20 Class Association and Melges Europe. A maximum of six races are scheduled over the next two days.

The remaining Series events are Torbole (6-7 July) and Porto Rotondo (29 August - 1 September) where the very first Audi Melges 20 European Championship will take place.

1.) Jan Kuchar/Martin Trcka, Aloha
2.) Jurgen Fuchs/Corinna Fuchs, Hellcat
3.) Robert Wilber/Anthony Kotoun, Cinghaile
4.) Achille Onorato/Lorenzo Bressani, Mascalzone Latino, Jr.
5.) Dario Levi/Andrea Casale, Fremito D’Arja
6.) Alessandro Rombelli/Paul Goodison, STIG
7.) Claudio Dutto/Fabio Zeni, Asante Sana
8.) Mirko de Falco/Guglielmo Giordano, Peccerè
9.) Vincenzo Adessi/Dario Desiderio, Raffichetta
10.) Michele Dandolo/Fabio Montefusco, Tachicardia
11.) Luca Carafa/Filippo D’Arrigo, Shut Up
12.) Lauro Bonora/Carlo Fracassoli, Camay
13.) Valter Campanile/Niccolo Bianchi, Nellaria 20
14.) Francesco Farneti/Alberto Bolzan, ITA-157
15.) Stefano Santucci/Andrea Fornaro, Tomahawk
16.) Saverio Bifulco/Paolo Scutellaro, Noi di Notte
17.) Manfredi Vianini Tolomei/Lorenzo Bodini, Maolca
18.) Simone Anichini, Henneken
19.) Marco Zaoli/Gabrio Zandona, Shadow
20.) Marco Franchini/Sandro Montefusco, Mezza Luna
21.) Giancarlo Capolino/Francesco Ivaldi, Legionario
22.) Federico Albano/Giulio Desiderato, 3Menda
23.) Renato Vallivero/Enrico Fonda, Audi Turnover
24.) Guido Miani/Gabriele Benussi, Out of Reach
25.) Andrea Pozzi/Chris Rast, Shimmer
26.) Wes Whitmeyer/Maxwell Fraser, Slingshot
View Full Crew/Entry List