Nineteen Melges 32s Assemble For Third Act Of 2013 Audi Sailing Series In Portoferraio

30 May 2013

Portoferraio, Italy - The International Melges 32 Class Association (IM32CA), alongside of host Lega Navale Italiana Portoferraio is proud to welcome a robust and highly-qualified fleet of nineteen teams to the waters of Portoferraio, Italy this weekend. Three days of the fastest and most thrilling one design racing will commence on Friday, 31 May and run thru Sunday, June 1. A maximum of eight races are scheduled with a discard coming into play after Race Six. Light wind is currently in the forecast.

Leading the overall 2013 Melges 32 Audi Sailing Series after two events is Andrea Pozzi's Bombarda, followed closely by Porto Ercole champion Lanfranco Cirillo on Fantastica in second, and Edoardo Lupi's Torpyone is third. All three will be back to compete in Portoferraio in an effort to defend, and potentially advance to the next round with victory.

In addition, the Class anticipates heat from top challengers such as Vincenzo Onorato’s Mascalzone Latino, Gaeta champion Valentin Zavadnikov's Team Synergy, Edoardo Pavesio's FRA MARTINA, Marc de Antonio's Bribon-Movistar, Roberto Tomasini Grinover's Robertissima and Deneen Demourkas on Groovederci.

Making a grand return to the European arena is Jason Carroll's Argo representing the USA. Three teams from Japan will also make an appearance — Keisuke Suzuki's Swing, Daisuke Kimura's Quetefeek and Naofumi Kamei's Mamma Aiuto!.

Portoferraio happens this weekend, organized by BPSE B.Plan Sports & Events in full coordination with the IM32CA and Melges Europe. The next events takes place in Torbole (Event No. 4 on 12-14 July). The final event will be the 2013 Melges 32 World Championship on 18-22 September in Porto Rotondo, Italy.

1.) Marc de Antonio Altimira/Gustavo Martinez Doreste, Bribon Movistar
2.) Carlo Alberini/Flavio Favini, Calvi Network
3.) Andrea Ferrari/Carlo Fracassoli, Spirit of Nerina
4.) Andrea Massi/Francesco Cruciani, ULIKA
5.) Mauro Mocchegiani/Branko Brcin, Audi Ultra Giacomel
6.) Edoardo Pavesio/Chris Rast, FRA MARTINA
7.) Lanfranco Cirillo/Michele Paoletti, Fantastica
8.) Andrea Pozzi/Lorenzo Bressani, Bombarda
9.) Edoardo Lupi/Pietro Sibello, Torpyone
10.) Vincenzo Onorato/Gabriele Benussi, Mascalzone Latino
11.) Naofumi Kamei/Manuel Weiller, Mamma Aiuto!
12.) Daisuke Kimura/Kazoto Seki, Quetefeek
13.) Keisuke Suzuki/Chris Nicolson, Swing
14.) Valetin Zavadinkov/Michele Ivaldi, Team Synergy
15.) Roberto Tomasini Grinover/Vasco Vascotto, Robertissima
16.) Richard Goransson/Hamish Pepper, Helly Hansen Inga from Sweden
17.) Jason Carroll/Cameron Appleton, Argo
18.) Deneen Demourkas/Mark Mendelblatt, Groovederci
19.) Malcolm Gefter/Sam Rogers, Celeritas
View Full Crew List
View Full Audi Sailing Series Rankings (After Two Events)