Pavesio Wins Napoli, Onorato Crowned Audi Melges 32 Sailing Series Champion

21 October 2012

Napoli, Italy - Congratulations are in full order for not one, but two major International Melges 32 winners — 2012 Audi Melges 32 Sailing Series Champion Vincenzo Onorato on Mascalzone Latino, and Napoli event winner Edoardo Pavesio aboard Audi F.lli Giacomel. Onorato was accompanied by steady tactician Nathan Wilmot, and crew of Flavio Favini, Andrea Ballico, Matteo Savelli, Daniele Fiaschi and Iztok Knafelc. Aboard the victorious Audi F.lli Giacomel with Pavesio was tactician Gabriele Benussi, Riccardo Simoneschi, Federico Buscaglia, Giovanni Pavessio, Vittorio Rosso, Paolo Mangialardo and Lucia Giorgetti.

On Sunday at the final day of competition in Napoli, the last two races hung in the balance, that would ultimately bring the 2012 Sailing Series circuit to a close. Once more, teams were met with very light wind conditions, however PRO Fabio Barasso was able to squeeze in the last two scheduled races. Pavesio, having led since the beginning of the event was crowned the winner in Napoli. Finishing second overall was 2011 defending Series Champion, Lanfranco Cirillo on Fantastica. Finishing a fabulous third overall was Roberto Tomasini Grinover on Robertissima.

Standing tall above all the rest in 2012, after five events and thirty-six races, Onorato takes home the Series Circuit Trophy and title, proudly accepted at his home port of Napoli. All season long Onorato remained determined to edge out Cirillo, and in the end did so by a wide margin. Pavesio, after great success in Malcesine, persevered and won Napoli. In turn, he was rewarded greatly with a spot (third) on the podium in the year-end Series Circuit standings.

Napoli was the final event of the Melges 32 Audi Sailing Series, organized by B-Plan Sport & Events with the collaboration of the International Melges 32 Class Association, Melges Europe and the local Circolo Canottieri Napoli. In addition to Audi, to support the Audi Sailing Series are haute watches Eberhard & Co, the official timekeeper of the season, and Musto, involved as a sponsor.

The International Melges 32 Class wishes to thank all the teams that competed in 2012. It has been another phenomenal year of racing. We look forward to seeing everyone back in 2013!

TOP TEN RESULTS (After Eight Races, One Discard - FINAL)
1.) Edoardo and Vanni Pavesio/Gabriele Benussi, Audi F.lli Giacomel Fra Martina; 1-1-(7)-3-1-3-5-3 = 17
2.) Lanfranco Cirillo/Michele Paoletti, Fantastica; 5-3-2-(9)-4-4-1-1 = 20
3.) Roberto Tomasini Grinover/Vasco Vascotto, Robertissima; (8)-4-3-2-5-1-4-5 = 24
4.) Valentin Zavadnikov-Leonid Lebedev/Morgan Reeser, Synergy GT; 2-2-6-4-6-(7)-2-6 = 28
5.) Mauro Mocchegiani/Paolo Cian, Rush Diletta; (9)-8-5-7-3-2-3-2 = 30
6.) Vincenzo Onorato/Nathan Wilmot, Mascalzone Latino; 4-6-1-1-7-5-7-(9) = 31
7.) Marc De Antonio/Gonzalo Araujo, Bribon Movistar; 3-(9)-4-5-2-8-6-4 = 32
8.) Carlo Perrone/Diego Negri, Atlantica 19; 6-7-(10)-6-8-6-8-7 = 48
9.) Carlo Varelli/Guglielmo Giordano, Sexy Lea; (10)-5-9-8-10-10-10-8 = 60
10.) Simon Coleridge/Tim Collins, Velvet Elvis; 7-(10)-8-10-9-9-9-10 = 62
View Full Results

1.) Vincenzo Onorato, Mascalzone Latino = 201 pts
2.) Lanfranco Cirillo, Fantastica = 214 pts
3.) Edoardo Pavesio, Audi F.lli Giacomel - FRA MARTINA = 235 pts
View Full Series Results

View Photo Gallery - Stefano Gattini
View Photo Gallery - Diego Barone Lumaga
View Photo Gallery - Angelo Florio