Bribon Movistar Wins Merchbanc Barcelona Melges 32 Winter Series Third Edition

29 January 2012

To call it exciting is an understatement! One can best summarize the second and final of the third phase of Merchbanc Melges 32 Barcelona Winter Series, organized by the Real Club Nautico de Barcelona, whose last act was on stage today, starting at 12.

After the three heats conducted yesterday, which saw the dominance of Bribon Movistar helmed by Marc de Antonio with an impeccable Hugo Rocha as tactic, now comes with about 10 knots for the first of three scheduled races.

It could be a script already written with Bribon Movistar taking a rest after the great performance on Saturday; with the German Christian Soyka’s IMMAC FRAM grouped in the assault and Team Bros. with Manu Weiller on board redeeming their colorless Saturday.

In the first part of the windward leg is gone just like that, but the tremors are not missed during the long and intense struggle between the Melges 32. Team Bros wins, leaving behind IMMAC FRAM and Bribon Movistar.

In the second heat, this time characterized by a breeze of 8 knots went down to 3, Team Bros wins again, followed by Bribon Movistar: a duel between two bloodstocks. Third place goes to IMMAC FRAM, which reached the finish line with almost no wind. The Basques of Gabinete Gestor comes fourth, demonstrating that day by day, much more self confidence in the wonderful world of Melges 32.

After the second race of the day, the Race Committee decided to sent everybody back home due to the almost complete absence of wind.

The ranking of the third phase of Merchbanc Melges 32 Barcelona Winter Series sees Bribon Movistar on the top of the provvisional results together with IMMAC FRAM helmed by Christian Soyka. Third, but only 1 point back of the winners there is the Janapese crew of Team Bros with Naofumi Kamei. Team Bros that maintain the leadership of the Winter Series.

The fourth and final phase of Merchbanc Melges 32 Barcelona Winter Series will be on stage from 24th to 26th always organized by the Real Club Nautico de Barcelona.