Audi Melges 20 — 3Menda Wins The 35th Edition of the Winter Interlake Championship

2 November 2009

The 35th edition of the Winter Interlake Championship - Credito Valtellinese Trophee, organized by the Canottieri Lecco sailing club, was held on Lake Como from the 31st October to the 1st November. On the start line there were 71 boats divided into 8 classes; a large fleet of Audi Melges 20 was among them.

At the end of the 1st day, with 6 to 13 knots of breeze, Federico Albano's 3Menda was number one in the provisional ranking. Thanks to two wins on four matches they managed to obtain a comfortable margin. Because of the lack of wind on Sunday, the situation remained unchanged and 3Menda won the 2009 edition of the Winter Interlake Championship.

Here the details of every match.

RACE ONE : At 9:05 am the jury gave the start to the Audi Melges 20 1st match. With 13 knots of breeze the boats began a real fight; the fleet remained compact to the 1st buoy, where Federico Albano's ITA137 3Menda was the 1st to turn, followed by Marco Morina's ITA144 Sei Tu 20 and Alessandro Rombelli's ITA65 Aria Fritta. Dario Levi's ITA50 Fremito D'Arja and Renato Vallivero's ITA126 Turnover came after. Successive sailing close to the wind with unchanged positions and last stern with Federico Albano's win.

RACE TWO : Because of the decrease in the wind strength it was feared that the regatta would be delayed, but luckily the wind increased around 6 knots. Marco Morina's Sei Tu 20 wins after leading the race from the beginning. Great tactic and sailing for this young team, that stood out thanks to its bravery and competitive spirit.

RACE THREE : Unstable conditions and 6 knots of breeze brought on an incident for a member of the crew of a Platu 25 as they had to be pulled out of the water by the Committee boat. Bad year for a Flying Star and dismast for the Ariel crew of the helmsman Ilaria Moretti on Orza Minore.

RACE FOUR : It was in doubt until the last minute, but it took place and gave Renato Vallivero's ITA126 victory over Turnover. It was the perfect regatta, fought to the last length.

1. 3Menda - Federico Albano - Cv Lerici - 1/1/3/4
2. Sei tu 20 - Marco Morina - Cn Rimini - 3/2/1/5
3. Aria Fritta - Alessandro Rombelli - 2/3/5/2
4. Fremito d'Aria - Dario Levi - 4/4/2/3
5. Turnover - Renato Vallivero - 5/5/4/1

View Photo Gallery