Taselaar's 'Bliksem' Steps Up For The Lead In Cagliari, Recchi On 'Team 93' Now Out Front In The Audi Sailing Series

17 July 2009

All eyes are on two teams in particular, 2009 series leader Carlo Alberini on Calvi Network and Claudio Recchi on Team 93. On the eve of the final championship, just three points separated the two teams.

The day opened with an immediate and powerful jolt from Recchi, favoring the left, coming in hot at the mark well ahead of the fleet special thanks to the tactical decisions of Jonathan McKee. For Alberini, with Gabriele Benussi serving as tactician, things seemed to be far more complicated than they needed to be as they rounded, buried in the fleet. Recchi’s closest competition was the American team of Taselaar, winner of the Scarlino edition AM32SS. Recchi’s strong desire for success kept him out front for the win.

Race two resulted in the two parties carefully monitoring one another, each cautiously and conservatively interpreting the diminishing wind, while shifting left. It was a tough race for Recchi having to settle for fourtheenth. Alberini suffered a big disappointment in the results as well with an eighteenth. The race was won by Lorenzo Santini’s Uka Uka Racing with Armando Guilietti at the helm and Lorenzo Bressani on tactics.

The Cagliari edition of the Audi Melges 32 Sailing Series 2009 overnight leader is Taselaar with Jeremy Wilmot on tactics. They have been in extraordinary form and perceived as tough opponents as the fleet looks ahead to the World Championship.

In the overall Series, Recchi is the new leader, now it is all up to Alberini to re-seize control.

Overall Series : Top Five Results (Provisional after three events):
1- TEAM 93 (Claudio Recchi / Jonathan McKee) pt. 69
2- CALVI NETWORK (Carlo Alberini / Gabriele Benussi) pt.76
3- PILOT ITALIA (Francesco Martino / Michele Paoletti) pt. 91
4- RUSH DILETTA (Mauro Mocchegiani / Andrea Casale) pt.98
5- MATRIX CORTINA D'AMPEZZO (Luigi Amedeo Melegari / Matteo Ivaldi) pt.101


Overall Event Results : Top Five Results (Provisional after two races):
1- BLIKSEM (Pieter Taselaar / Jeremy Wilmot) 2,4: pt.6
2- UKA UKA RACING (Lorenzo Santini / Armando Guilietti / Lorenzo Bressani) 8,1: pt.9
3- MATRIX CORTINA D'AMPEZZO (Luigi Amedeo Melegari / Matteo Ivaldi) 4,5:pt.9
4- ARGO -USA (Jason Carroll / Ben Bardwell) 3,8: pt.11
5- ACTION TEAM (Francesco Martino / Michele Paoletti) 9,3: pt.12


Visit the official website of the AUDI SAILING SERIES.